IMAGE - aqueducs (copy)
Private wells and other private or public aqueduct networks

Warning – natural water source (Chemin Lotbinière)


It is strictly prohibited to draw water from the groundwater source located opposite 2344 Chemin Lotbinière. This source is not only located on private property but is not controlled for the presence of contaminants, harmful microorganisms and other harmful substances that pose health risks.


Thank you for your cooperation.

Private wells

Responsibilities of a private well owner

According to the Town’s registry (2003-2019), 215 private wells (commonly known as “artesian wells”) provide water to Saint-Lazare homes. The water intended for human consumption must be of good quality and must meet the standards set in the Regulation respecting the quality of drinking water. The owner of an individual well or small network (servicing less than 21 people) is responsible for ensuring that the water is of good quality and safe for human consumption. The owner’s responsibilities are listed in the Ministry’s guide.

Private well owners are responsible to ensure the water is safe for consumption according to the standards of the Ministry of Environment and Climate Change (website).

Mandatory identification of a watering well or other alternative sources of untreated water supply

The owner of a private well is not required to comply with the by-law on the use of water distributed by the municipal aqueduct network as stipulated in By-Law no 667 relative to the Outdoor use of water distributed by the municipal aqueduct network (available here). However, the owner of any property connected to the municipal water system and who has a private well or other source of water supply must obtain, at no charge, a sign at the urban planing service counter.

The sign must be placed on the property so as to be visible from the street at all times.

Private aqueduct networks

In accordance with the Regulation respecting the quality of drinking water, owners of private aqueduct networks are subject to the same rules as municipalities. In Saint-Lazare, there is at least one private aqueduct network. The owner, i.e. the operator of the network, is responsible for notifying those serviced by his network of any instance of non-compliance of the network. However, the Town may post a boil water advisory at the request of a private network operator.

Hudson’s aqueduct network

Twelve (12) properties on Route Harwood in Saint-Lazare are serviced by the municipal aqueduct network of the Town of Hudson. The Town of Hudson’s Public Works Department (or the operator of the network) is responsible for distributing door hangers to the Saint-Lazare residents serviced by its network. However, if a boil water advisory is issued for Hudson, the Saint-Lazare Communications Department may post a notice here at the request of the Town of Hudson.  

Vaudreuil-Dorion’s aqueduct network

Seventeen (17) properties on Route de la Cité-des-Jeunes are serviced by the Vaudreuil-Dorion network. Ville de Vaudreuil-Dorion’s Public Works Department is responsible for distributing door hangers to the Saint-Lazare residents serviced by its network. However, if a boil water advisory is issued for Vaudreuil-Dorion, the Saint-Lazare Communications Department may post a notice here at the request of Ville de Vaudreuil-Dorion,


Last updated: 01/27/2020
Tous droits réservés, Ville de Saint-Lazare © 2002-2020
1960, chemin Sainte-Angélique, Saint-Lazare (Québec), J7T 3A3
Telephone: 450 424-8000

The Town ·  Municipal services ·  Things to do ·  History, maps & statistics ·  Environment ·  Transportation & public works ·  Public safety  ·   Contact us

IMAGE - aqueducs (copy)
Puits privés et autres réseaux d’aqueducs publics et privés

Mise en garde – source d’eau naturelle (chemin Lotbinière)


Il est strictement interdit de puiser l’eau de la source d’eau souterraine située en face du 2344 chemin Lotbinière. Cette source est non seulement située sur un terrain privé mais elle n’est pas contrôlée pour la présence de contaminants, de microorganismes nuisibles et des autres substances nuisibles qui présentent des risques pour la santé.

Merci de votre collaboration.

Puits privé

Responsabilité du propriétaire d’un puits privés (artésien)

Selon les registres de la municipalité (2003-2019), ce sont 215 puits privés (communément appelé « puits artésien ») qui desservent des résidences à Saint-Lazare. L'eau destinée à la consommation humaine doit être de bonne qualité et respecter les normes édictées dans le Règlement sur la qualité de l’eau potable. C’est au propriétaire du puits individuel ou du petit réseau (desservant moins de 21 personnes) que revient la responsabilité de s’assurer de la qualité et de la sécurité de l’eau qu’il offre pour consommation. Les responsabilités du propriétaire sont décrites dans un guide du ministère.

Les propriétaires de puits privés ont la responsabilité de s’assurer que leur eau est propre à la consommation humaine selon les exigences du ministère de l’environnement et de la lutte contre les changements climatiques (site).

Identification obligatoire d’un puits d’arrosage ou d’autres sources alternatives d’alimentation en eau non traitée

Le propriétaire d'un puits privé n'est pas soumis au règlement sur l'utilisation de l'eau distribuée par un réseau d'aqueduc municipal toutefois, en vertu du règlement 667 relatif à l’utilisation de l’eau distribuée par le réseau d’aqueduc municipal (disponible ici). Le propriétaire de toute propriété raccordée au réseau d’aqueduc municipal et qui a un puits privé ou autre source d’approvisionnement en eau peut se procurer sans frais une affiche au comptoir du service de l'urbanisme/de l'environnement.

L’affiche doit être placée sur la propriété de manière à être visible à partir de la voie de circulation en tout temps.

Réseau d'aqueduc privé

En vertu du règlement sur la Qualité de l'eau potable, les propriétaires de conduites privées sont assujettis aux mêmes règles que les municipalités. À Saint-Lazare, il existe au moins un réseau d'aqueduc privé. Le propriétaire, c'est-à-dire l'exploitant du réseau, est responsable d'aviser les personnes qu'il dessert des non-conformités de son réseau. Toutefois, à la demande d'un exploitant de réseau privé, la Ville peu afficher ici un avis d'ébullition.

Réseau d'aqueduc de la Ville de Hudson

Douze (12) propriétés sur la route Harwood à Saint-Lazare sont desservies par le réseau d'aqueduc municipal de la Ville de Hudson. Le service des travaux publics de la Ville de Hudson (ou l'exploitant du réseau) est responsable de distribuer des accroche-portes aux résidants qu’elle dessert à Saint-Lazare. Toutefois, à la demande de la Ville de Hudson, le service des communications de Saint-Lazare peut collaborer en affichant un avis ici advenant qu'elle émette un avis d'ébullition.

Réseau d'aqueduc de la Ville de Vaudreuil-Dorion

Dix-sept (17) propriétés sur la route de la Cité-des-Jeunes sont desservies par le réseau de Vaudreuil-Dorion. Le service des travaux publics de la Ville de Vaudreuil-Dorion est responsable de distribuer des accroche-portes aux résidants qu’elle dessert à Saint-Lazare. Toutefois, à la demande de la Ville de Vaudreuil-Dorion, le service des communications de Saint-Lazare peut collaborer en affichant un avis ici  advenant que Vaudreuil-Dorion émette un avis d'ébullition.


Dernière mise à jour : 27/01/2020
Ville de Saint-Lazare, Tous droits réservés © 2002-2020
1960, chemin Sainte-Angélique, Saint-Lazare (Québec), J7T 3A3
Téléphone : 450 424-8000

La Ville  ·   Guichet municipal  ·   Quoi faire  ·   Histoire, cartes et stats  ·   Environnement  ·   Transport et voirie  ·   Sécurité publique   ·    Pour nous joindre