Page tools



Last updated: 10/18/2017
IMAGE - aqueducs
Saint-Lazare's aqueduct networks

Brown water? Low pressure?

It is possible that a pipe flushing operation is underway! Verify.

Which aqueduct network services my property?

View Saint-Lazare's aqueduct networks map to identify the network that provides your residence with potable water.

Controlling the quality of the water distributed by the municipal aqueduct network

As part of the routine operations of a treatment facility, several water quality tests are conducted each week in accordance with the Regulation respecting the quality of drinking water. The samples drawn at various points on the networks undergo a series of physico-chemical and bacteriological tests conducted in an independent laboratory accredited by the Ministry of Sustainable Development, Environment, Wildlife and Parks (MDDEFP). The results of all the water analyses are automatically sent to the MDDEFP without exception. This is a standard procedure that ensures that the strictest quality standards are met in the treatment and distribution of water.

RÉSEAU SADDLEBROOK

N.B.: a note has also been sent to property owners serviced by the Saint-Louis aqueduct network since the Saddlebrook and Saint-Louis networks are connected and those homes are most often supplied in drinking water by Saddlebrook.




The Town of Saint-Lazare is supplied with drinking water through various water tables with different quantitative and qualitative properties. Distribution is provided through three (3) water supply networks—specifically, the Sainte-Angélique, Saddlebrook and Saint-Louis networks. The Town’s water treatment plants have different equipment required for treating and disinfecting water depending on their various intrinsic characteristics.

The numerous random episodes of brown drinking water that occur in the Saddlebrook sector are not unusual situations in the exploitation of underground waters. Over the years, aquifers undergo natural transformations which can modify some of their characteristics, in particular the concentration of certain elements such as iron and manganese which confer water an unaesthetic brownish color. When such situations arise, protocols of intervention, validation and approvals exist and procedures apply to correct the situation. Unfortunately, every solution must be adapted to the particular situation which prolongs deadlines. Back in the early 90’s, the City has had to intervene in a similar situation on its Sainte-Angélique network. Already experienced in this field, the municipal team is making every effort to correct the situation in the best possible time frame while respecting steps prescribed by the law.
 



To rectify the brown water issue in your sector, the Town’s infrastructure department is notably working on 3 fronts:

Phase I – optimizing the cleaning of the water pipes : this phase, undertaken in 2014, aims at increasing the frequency of unidirectional water pipe flushing, it also includes other improvements such as the addition of valves and connectors to the network system;

Phase II – removing iron and manganese at the source (2017-2018 transitional measure): this phase involves removing iron and manganese at the source by increasing the filtration capacity. This measure requires the filtration system be modified and requires the confirmation from Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques (MDDELCC) that the Town can proceed. After receiving, the green light from MDDELCC, on Wednesday, October 11, 2017, the Town will carry out the work needed to implement these particular modifications on the Saddlebrook network in the coming weeks. The work will considerably reduce the concentrations of iron and manganese and also improve the aesthetic quality of the water;

Phase III – the construction of a biological filtration system (permanent solution starting in 2019): a firm, specialised in water treatment solutions, has been running trials for at least 3 weeks to remove the iron and manganese as well as remove the nitrites and nitrates. The data and results collected from these trials will serve to draft and to proceed to calls for tender for the professional services to acquire and install a  permanent filtration system in 2019, a construction preliminarily estimated at 1 M $.


At the provincial level, iron and manganese are not subject to any standards in the Regulation respecting the quality of drinking water (RRQDW). In its Guide de conception des installations de production d'eau potable, the MDDELCC suggests a maximum concentration of 0.05 mg/L for manganese. The appearance of brown water is not an indication that manganese as reached its maximum concentration. Furthermore, since 2016, the Federal-Provincial-Territorial Committee on Drinking Water (CDW) as set a maximum acceptable manganese concentration (MAC) of 0.1 mg/L in order to protect the population that is generally more sensitive to potential neurological effects (infants) and to meet the aesthetic objective (AO) of 0.02 mg/L, which reduces complaints made by citizens concerning brown water.
Ville de Saint-Lazare © 2002-2018
1960, chemin Sainte-Angélique, Saint-Lazare (Québec), J7T 3A3
Telephone: 450 424-8000

The Town ·  Municipal services ·  Things to do ·  History, maps & statistics ·  Environment ·  Transportation & public works ·  Public safety  ·   Contact us

IMAGE - aqueducs
Réseaux d’aqueducs de Saint-Lazare

Eau brune? Pression faible?

Un rinçage des conduites d'eau potable est peut-être en cours! Vérifiez-le.

Quel réseau dessert ma propriété ?

Consultez la carte des réseaux d'aqueducs de Saint-Lazare pour identifier celui qui dessert votre résidence.

Contrôle de la qualité de l'eau distribuée par le réseau d'aqueduc municipal

Dans le cadre normal des activités courantes d’une usine de traitement, l’eau est soumise chaque semaine, conformément au règlement sur la Qualité de l'eau potable, à de nombreux contrôles de qualité. Les échantillons prélevés, à différents points sur les réseaux, subissent une batterie de tests physico-chimiques et bactériologiques effectués dans un laboratoire indépendant accrédité par le ministère du développement durable, de l’environnement, de la faune et des parcs (MDDEFP). Les  résultats de toutes les analyses de l’eau sont automatiquement transmis au MDDEFP sans exception. Cette procédure est standard et permet d’assurer les normes les plus sévères de prévention en matière de traitement et de distribution de l’eau.

RÉSEAU SADDLEBROOK

N.B. : Une lettre a également été envoyée aux propriétaires fonciers desservis par le réseau d'aqueduc Saint-Louis puisque ces propriétés sont plus souvent approvisionnées en eau potable par le réseau Saddlebrook, les 2 réseaux étant connectés.




La Ville de Saint-Lazare s’approvisionne en eau à partir de différentes nappes phréatiques ayant des propriétés quantitatives et qualitatives différentes. La distribution se fait grâce à trois (3) réseaux d’aqueduc, soit le réseau Sainte-Angélique, le réseau Saddlebrook et le réseau Saint-Louis. Les usines de traitement de la ville disposent de différents équipements nécessaires au traitement et à la désinfection de l’eau selon leurs différentes caractéristiques intrinsèques.

Les nombreux épisodes aléatoires d’eau potable brune qui se manifestent dans le secteur de Saddlebrook ne sont pas des situations inhabituelles dans l’exploitation des eaux souterraines. Au fil des années, les aquifères subissent des transformations naturelles qui peuvent modifier certaines de leurs caractéristiques, notamment la concentration de certains éléments tels le fer et le manganèse qui confèrent à l’eau une désagréable couleur brunâtre. Lorsque de telles situations surviennent, des protocoles d’intervention, de validation et d’approbations existent et des procédures s’appliquent pour corriger la situation. Malheureusement, chaque solution doit être adaptée à la situation particulière ce qui engendre des délais. Au début des années 1990, la Ville a déjà dû intervenir dans une situation similaire sur son réseau Sainte-Angélique. Fort de cette expérience, l’équipe municipale met tout en œuvre pour faire avancer ce dossier dans les meilleurs délais et en vertu des démarches prescrites par la loi.

Pour rectifier la situation de l’eau brune dans votre secteur, le Service des infrastructures (SI) de la Ville de Saint-Lazare travaille, notamment, sur trois (3) volets :

Volet I – l’optimisation du nettoyage des conduites : ce volet, entamé en 2014, vise à optimiser, entre autres, le nettoyage des conduites d’aqueduc par des rinçages unidirectionnels plus fréquents. Ce volet comprend aussi d’autres améliorations tels l’ajout de vannes et d’interconnections sur ces conduites;

 Volet II – l’enlèvement du fer et du manganèse à la source (mesure transitoire 2017-2018): ce volet vise à enlever, à la source, le fer et le manganèse par l’augmentation de la capacité de filtration. Pour ce faire, des modifications au système de traitement de l’eau sont requises ainsi qu’une confirmation du ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques (MDDELCC) pour procéder. Ayant reçu le feu vert du MDDELCC, le mercredi 11 octobre 2017, la Ville procédera, aux cours des prochaines semaines, aux modifications du système de filtration des puits desservant l’usine Saddlebrook; ces travaux réduiront considérablement les concentrations de fer et de manganèse et permettront ainsi d’améliorer la qualité esthétique de l’eau;

Volet III – la construction d’un système de filtration biologique (solution permanente dès 2019) : une firme spécialisée dans les solutions de traitement de l’eau, procède actuellement, et ce depuis environ 3 semaines, à des essais pilotes de déferrisation et de démanganisation ainsi qu’à l’enlèvement des nitrites et nitrates. La collecte de données sur ce réseau ainsi que les résultats de cette étude permettront ensuite de rédiger et de procéder aux appels d’offres pour services professionnels en vue d’acquérir et d’installer un système de filtration biologique permanent dès 2019, une construction préliminairement estimée à 1 M $.

 


Au niveau provincial, le fer et le manganèse ne font pas l’objet d’une norme dans le règlement de la qualité de l’eau potable (RQEP). Le MDDELCC suggère toutefois, dans son Guide de conception des installations de production d'eau potable, une concentration maximale de 0,05 mg/L pour le manganèse. L’apparence de l’eau brune n’est pas un indicateur que la concentration maximale recommandée soit atteinte. De plus, depuis 2016, le Comité fédéral-provincial-territorial sur l’eau potable (CEP) a établi la concentration maximale acceptable (CMA) de manganèse à 0,1 mg/L dans le but de protéger la population plus sensible contre les effets neurologiques (les nourrissons) et l’objectif esthétique (OE) à 0,02 mg/L aux fins de réduire les plaintes des consommateurs concernant l’eau brune.

Ville de Saint-Lazare © 2002-2017
1960, chemin Sainte-Angélique, Saint-Lazare (Québec), J7T 3A3
Téléphone : 450 424-8000


La Ville  ·   Guichet municipal  ·   Quoi faire  ·   Histoire, cartes et stats  ·   Environnement  ·   Transport et voirie  ·   Sécurité publique   ·    Pour nous joindre