Page tools



Last updated: 03/03/2017
IMAGE - Histoire
History
The first French-speaking colonists began settling in the 18th century on the land granted by the Lord who, at the time, owned Vaudreuil, Rigaud and Lotbinière. These three domains were subdivided in concessions. Among those of Vaudreuil were Côte St-Charles, Pointe Cavagnol and Côte St-Louis where Solomon Grout was the first to settle in 1812. The first settlers cultivated the land and traded their crops in exchange for the use of the land. Their harvests included oat, rye, buckwheat, corn, potatoes, peas, beans, tomatoes and hay. The majority of the first English-speaking immigrants arrived after the war of 1812. Most where from New-England, England especially from Cumberland and Scotland.

In 1875, residents living in the parish we now call St-Lazare, expressed their desire to create a distinct region. On December 29th, 1875, an act confers the status of municipality to the territory of St-Lazare which, in 1876, takes the name of the Corporation Municipale de la Paroisse de St-Lazare. The Lord’s tenure is also abolished.

According to stories carried on from generation to generation, other business men would have been seduced by the idea of exploiting iron mines along the Sainte-Angélique concession road. This first production and extraction of natural resources became an incentive for other merchants to settle in the area : three sawmills to handle tree cuttings and fulfil local construction needs, horses to pull wagons carrying mineral extracts to be shipped off to the iron forges of those days including that of St-Maurice. From agriculture to mines to mills, St-Lazare sees the beginning of its commercial activity. The residents of St-Lazare are named Lazarois and Lazaroise, not be be confused with Lazarien and Lazariene from St-Lazare-de-Bellechasse.

2003
The new Library of Saint-Lazare officially opens its doors on March 4th, 2003, ten years after the opening of the former library.

2001
29 décembre : On December 29, Saint-Lazare officially becomes a "Town".

2001
Saint-Lazare inaugurates it's new community center to serve a population of 13 310.

2000
The Town evacuates more than 70% of its territory during the fire than destroyed the Regent chemical plant. The Town also celebrates its 125th anniversary

1998
The roof of the Roman Catholic Church must be redone following the ice storm.

1997
The new des Seigneuries police Corp is created and replaced the one dedicated to Saint-Lazare.

1993
The municipal logo, we know today, is adopted. It represents the groundwater, the sand, the forest canopy, the equestrian vocation as well as the environmental quality.

1986
Saint-Lazare counts 5064 residents.

Ville de Saint-Lazare © 2002-2017
1960, chemin Sainte-Angélique, Saint-Lazare (Québec), J7T 3A3
Telephone: 450 424-8000

The Town ·  Municipal services ·  Things to do ·  History, maps & statistics ·  Environment ·  Transportation & public works ·  Public safety  ·   Contact us

Outils de la page



Dernière mise à jour : 02/03/2017
IMAGE - Histoire
Histoire
Les premiers habitants de langue française s'établirent au 18e siècle sur le territoire du Seigneur de l'époque à qui appartenait Vaudreuil, Rigaud et Lotbinière. Ces trois seigneuries étaient divisées en concessions. À Vaudreuil, on pouvait compter celle de Côte St-Charles, Pointe Cavagnol et Côte St-Louis où Solomon Grout fût le premier à s'y installer en 1812. Les premiers habitants cultivaient les terres et remettaient au Seigneur le fruit de leur récolte incluant avoine, seigle, sarrasin, maïs, patates, pois, fèves, tomates et foin, ce en guise de paiement pour la location des terres. La majorité des premiers immigrants de la langue anglaise vinrent s'installer après la guerre de 1812. Ceux-ci venaient de la Nouvelle-Angleterre, d'Angleterre et plus particulièrement de Cumberland, et d'Écosse.

C'est en 1875, que les résidants de la paroisse, appelée aujourd'hui Saint-Lazare, manifestent leur désir de former une entité distincte. Le 29 décembre 1875, un acte confère le statut de municipalité au territoire de Saint-Lazare qui, en 1876, prend le nom de Corporation municipale de la Paroisse de Saint-Lazare. La tenure seigneuriale est aussi abolie.

Selon les faits rapportés de génération en génération, d'autres hommes d'affaires auraient été séduits par l'idée d'exploiter le minerai de fer le long du rang Sainte-Angélique. Cette première production et extraction des richesses naturelles incitera d'autres commerçants à venir s'installer en périphérie : trois scieries pour traiter la coupe d'arbres et combler les besoins locaux en construction, des chevaux pour tirer les wagons transportant les extraits minéraux et les expédier vers les forges de l'époque, dont celle de Saint-Maurice. De l'agriculture aux mines, aux moulins, Saint-Lazare voit naître ses premiers commerces. Les résidents de Saint-Lazare se nomment des Lazarois et des Lazaroises, à ne pas confondre avec les Lazariens ou Lazarienne de St-Lazare-de-Bellechasse.

2003
La nouvelle bibliothèque de Saint-Lazare ouvre officiellement ses portes le 4 mars 2003, soit, dix ans après l'ouverture de l'ancienne bibliothèque.

2001
29 décembre : Saint-Lazare obtient officiellement son statut de "Ville".

2001
Saint-Lazare inaugure son nouveau centre communautaire pour desservir une population qui s'élève maintenant à 13 310.

2000
Elle évacue plus de 70% de son territoire lors de l'incendie qui a rasé l'usine de produits chimiques Regent. La municipalité célèbre aussi son 125e anniversaire.

1998
Le toit de l'église catholique doit être refait suite à la crise du verglas.

1997
Le nouveau corps de police des Seigneuries est créé et remplace celui dédié uniquement à Saint-Lazare.

1993
Le logo municipal, que l'on connaît aujourd'hui, est adopté. Il représente l'eau souterraine, le sable, le couvert forestier, la vocation équestre ainsi que la qualité environnementale.

1986
Saint-Lazare compte 5064 habitants.

Ville de Saint-Lazare © 2002-2017
1960, chemin Sainte-Angélique, Saint-Lazare (Québec), J7T 3A3
Téléphone : 450 424-8000


La Ville  ·   Guichet municipal  ·   Quoi faire  ·   Histoire, cartes et stats  ·   Environnement  ·   Transport et voirie  ·   Sécurité publique   ·    Pour nous joindre