Page tools



Last updated: 03/03/2017
IMAGE - Administration municipale
Town administration
The Town administration is usually associated with public service. The municipality is an administration created by the province to ensure the delivery of local services to the population, among other things. It consists of managers and employees grouped under various departments.

In the case of Saint-Lazare, the municipal council is made up of the mayor and six (6) councilors each representing a district. The role of the municipal council is to ensure that the services offered answer the needs of the community. It must also establish the rules for the management of public goods and the use of private property. The council more or less determines the Town’s orientations and priorities and then manages municipal affairs from a policy perspective. Municipal employees are responsible for the implementation of the decisions made by the council. They also see to the day-to-day management of operations from an administrative perspective. By analogy with constitutional law, there is therefore separation of powers between the “legislative” (the Town council) and the “executive” (the Town administration).

There are laws that grant powers to municipalities and restrict their exercise such as the Municipal Powers Act, the Cities and Towns Act, the Act respecting land use and development and the Act respecting municipal taxation. The “organisation municipale” tab on the website of the Ministry of Municipal Affairs, Regions and Land Occupancy (MAMROT) provides additional information on this subject (www.mamrot.gouv.qc.ca).

Attending council meetings and the open meetings prescribed by law, visiting the Town’s website on a regular basis and consulting the various municipal publications will help you better understand the collective issues.
Ville de Saint-Lazare © 2002-2017
1960, chemin Sainte-Angélique, Saint-Lazare (Québec), J7T 3A3
Telephone: 450 424-8000

The Town ·  Municipal services ·  Things to do ·  History, maps & statistics ·  Environment ·  Transportation & public works ·  Public safety  ·   Contact us

IMAGE - Administration municipale
Administration municipale
L'administration municipale est généralement associée à la fonction publique. La municipalité est une administration créée par la province pour assurer notamment la prestation de services locaux à la population. Elle est composée de cadres et d'employés regroupés en services.

Dans le cas de la Ville de Saint-Lazare, le conseil municipal se compose du maire et de six (6) conseillers représentant chacun un district. Le rôle du conseil municipal est notamment de s'assurer que les services offerts répondent aux besoins de la communauté. Il doit aussi établir les règles à la gestion des biens publics et à l’utilisation de la propriété privée. Grosso modo, le conseil décide des orientations et des priorités de la municipalité puis en administre les affaires d’un point de vue politique. Les employés municipaux viellent à la mise en œuvre des décisions du conseil. Ils assurent également la gestion quotidienne des opérations d’un point de vue administratif. Par analogie avec le droit constitutionnel, il y a donc séparation des pouvoirs entre le « législatif » (ici le conseil) et l’exécutif (ici l’administration).

Diverses lois accordent des pouvoirs aux municipalités et circonscrivent leur exercice, notamment la Loi sur les compétences municipales, la Loi sur les cités et villes, la Loi sur l’aménagement et l’urbanisme et la Loi sur la fiscalité municipale. L’onglet « organisation municipale » du site Internet du ministère des Affaires municipales, des Régions et de l’Occupation du territoire (MAMROT) peut être consulté afin d’obtenir des renseignements additionnels.

Votre participation aux séances du conseil et aux assemblées de consultation établies par la loi, combinée à une consultation régulière du site Internet de la ville et des autres publications municipales, peut contribuer à votre compréhension des enjeux collectifs.
Ville de Saint-Lazare © 2002-2017
1960, chemin Sainte-Angélique, Saint-Lazare (Québec), J7T 3A3
Téléphone : 450 424-8000


La Ville  ·   Guichet municipal  ·   Quoi faire  ·   Histoire, cartes et stats  ·   Environnement  ·   Transport et voirie  ·   Sécurité publique   ·    Pour nous joindre